Skip to main content

Catherine Holstein for Khaite once again won American Womenswear Designer of the Year at the 2023 CFDA Fashion Awards, presented by Amazon Fashion on Monday night.

Holstein, who also won the award in 2022, was up against Joseph Altuzarra for Altuzarra, Christopher John Rogers, Raul Lopez for Luar and Tory Burch.

The founder, designer and creative director of Khaite began her ready-to-wear company, which is known for its signature sensual, feminine and urban style, in 2016.

Taking home the American Menswear Designer of the Year trophy was Willy Chavarria, who edged out nominees Mike Amiri for Amiri, Colm Dillane for KidSuper, Teddy von Ranson for Teddy Vonranson and Thom Browne for Thom Browne New York.

Chavarria, who launched his own label in 2015, is known for elevated tailoring that’s infused with his signature flair, color and youthful energy.

Willy Chavarria

Willy Chavarria Rebecca Smeyne/WWD

Ashley and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row were awarded the American Accessory Designer of the Year honor for the fourth time, beating out Ana Khouri, Brandon Blackwood, Stuart Vevers for Coach and Raul Lopez for Luar.

Mary-Kate Olsen (L) and Ashley Olsen attend the 2007 CFDA Fashion awards at the New York Public LIbrary. (Photo by Fairchild Archive/Penske Media via Getty Images)

Mary-Kate Olsen and Ashley Olsen of The Row. Penske Media via Getty Images

The Olsens’ brand, The Row, which won Accessory Designer of the Year in 2014, 2018 and 2019, is known for its luxe minimalism. The Olsens were unable to attend.

Rachel Scott for Diotima was named the Shop with Google American Emerging Designer of the Year, edging out nominees Bach Mai, Connor McKnight, Tanner Richie and Fletcher Kasell for Tanner Fletcher, and Carly Mark for Puppets and Puppets.

The Jamaica-born Diotima, both a CFDA Vogue Fashion Fund runner-up and LVMH Prize finalist, founded her artisanal luxurywear line in 2021. She sells such stores as Bergdorf Goodman, Moda Operandi and McMullen, among others.

Rachel Scott

Rachel Scott for Diotima. Dominique Maitre for WWD

Throughout the evening, honors were awarded to Serena Williams as Fashion Icon; Vera Wang, who received the board of directors tribute; Domenico De Sole, who won the Founder’s Award in honor of Eleanor Lambert; Maria Cornejo, who received the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award; Alina Cho, who received the Media Award in honor of Eugenia Sheppard; Mara Hoffman, who took home the Environmental Sustainability Award; Jonathan Anderson for JW Anderson and Loewe, who received the International designer of the Year Award, and Gwyneth Paltrow of Goop, who took home the Innovation Award.

Hosted by Anne Hathaway, the awards took place at the American Museum of Natural History in New York, with a slew of presenters including Laura Linney, Demi Moore, Mary J. Blige and Naomi Watts.